Commonwealth observers submit final report on Cayman Islands elections

Commonwealth observers submit final report on Cayman Islands elections

GEORGE TOWN, Cayman Islands — Recommendations to review election laws and further comply with international obligations have been made by the election observation mission (EOM) of six Commonwealth observers, led by Steve Rodan MLC, president of Tynwald (Isle of Man) in its final report on the May 2017 general election in the Cayman Islands.


The EOM, which was arranged by the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association British Isles and Mediterranean Region (CPA BIMR), found that the elections met the international standards for democratic, genuine and transparent elections but offered recommendations, notably regarding voter and candidate’s eligibility criteria, constituency boundaries and the participation of women.

“In light of the mobility of the Cayman Islanders and the contribution of its expat community, it is important in any review of the Constitution Order to consider the requirements on the duration of residence,” Rodan said.

With regard to constituency boundaries, he commented: “Constituency boundaries should be further reviewed with the aim to achieve greater equality between the number of electors within each electoral districts.”

The mission also highlighted the low level of female candidates and elected members. This falls short of the Cayman Islands’ international commitments under the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women.

The EOM was made up of MPs from the Commonwealth and election officials who examined the administration of Election Day procedures at polling stations, met candidates, returning officers, local officials, community groups and other relevant stakeholders in order to assess the conduct of the election.

The EOM’s final report reflects the findings which the head of mission presented in the mission’s preliminary statement issued just after the election on 24 May.

The 2017 general election was the first election held under the ‘one person – one vote’ single member district electoral system in the Cayman Islands.